The decision in context
A stroller has more than one weight limit
The stroller weight limit is not one allowance for everything you carry. Check the child’s seat limit, the underseat basket limit, and any small pocket limit separately. Rules for loads on the handlebar, backrest, and sides matter too: the checked manuals warn that excess or hanging loads can affect stability.

The three compact models checked here have US product-page child limits of 50 lb; their manuals list 22 kg. Their basket limits differ. Age and height can also end use before the weight limit is reached. Read the current manual for your exact model rather than applying these examples to another stroller.
Check the child’s weight, age, and height
Joolz’s US Aer² page lists “0 months - 50 lbs” and does not give an upper age in months or years. Its international manual, dated February 2025 and hosted by a retailer, limits the seat unit to 22 kg/50 lbs.

Bugaboo’s US Butterfly 2 page lists 50 lbs on the seat and an age range from birth to approximately 48 months. The checked non-US manual says 0 to 48 months and up to 22 kg, with the specified age or weight applying “whichever comes first.”
Ergobaby’s US Metro 3 page lists 0–50lbs. Its North American manual says newborn up to 50lbs/22kg or 4 years, whichever comes first, with a maximum height of 40in. Both the Bugaboo and Ergobaby manuals allow only one child in the seat at a time.
For newborn use, Bugaboo’s checked manual says to use the most reclined seat position. Ergobaby’s manual calls for full recline for babies who have not yet developed good head and neck control. These are model instructions; check your own manual for the required setup.
Read the basket limit separately
Joolz’s US Aer² page lists a basket limit of 17.6 lbs. The international manual lists 8 kg/17 lbs. Keep that difference visible; do not replace either source’s number with your own conversion.

Bugaboo’s US Butterfly 2 page lists 17.6 lbs (8 kg) for the underseat basket. Its non-US manual lists up to 8 kg. Ergobaby’s North American Metro 3 manual lists 22 lbs/10 kg; the checked US product page gives no basket weight figure.
Ergobaby’s manual also says the basket must not be used as a child or pet carrier. A basket weight limit does not tell you whether your bag will fit through its opening. Treat bag access as a separate question from the allowed load.
Small pockets have their own limits
Joolz’s international Aer² manual limits the backrest pocket to 2 kg/4.4 lbs. Ergobaby’s North American Metro 3 manual limits the seat-back pocket to 1 lb/0.45 kg.

The checked Butterfly 2 US page and non-US manual do not state a pocket weight limit. That blank is not an unlimited allowance. Check the current manual or ask the manufacturer before treating the pocket as extra carrying capacity.
Do not treat the handlebar as extra storage
Bugaboo’s checked manual says loads attached to the handlebar, back of the backrest, or sides affect stroller stability. Ergobaby’s North American manual gives the same warning and says not to hang objects in those places. It says a diaper bag or similar item must go in the basket.

Joolz’s international manual warns that parcels or accessories placed on the unit may make it unstable. It also says the stroller will become unstable if the manufacturer’s recommended load is exceeded.
Ergobaby additionally says to use only its recommended parcel bags or the stroller may become unstable. That instruction does not override its warning against hanging objects from the handle, backrest, or sides.
Follow the loading and handling instructions
Bugaboo’s checked manual says to apply the brake when putting your child in or taking your child out. Ergobaby says to lock the parking brakes and check stability before doing either, and whenever the stroller is stationary.

Ergobaby says not to lift or carry the stroller with a child in it and not to use it on stairs or escalators. Bugaboo says to take the child out on stairs, and rules out moving walkways and escalators.
The Australian section of Joolz’s international manual describes use on flat or gently sloping surfaces and warns of instability on steeper or uneven surfaces. These regional examples do not replace the handling rules for your own version.
Stop at the first limit, and resolve unclear labels
For Bugaboo’s checked manual, the stated age or weight applies “whichever comes first.” Ergobaby’s North American manual uses that rule for weight or age and also sets a maximum height. Being under the weight limit does not cancel those other limits. Joolz’s checked US page does not state an upper age.

US product pages and manuals can use different units or rounded figures, as the Aer² basket figures show. Follow the label and current manual for your exact version. If they disagree or a limit is unclear, ask the manufacturer to resolve it.
In the US, 16 CFR part 1227 requires carriages and strollers to comply with the applicable provisions of ASTM F833-21. That requirement does not replace the load and use instructions for your model.
The documented details
| Feature | Joolz Aer² | Bugaboo Butterfly 2 | Ergobaby Metro 3 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Child limit (US product page) | 50 lbs | 50 lbs | 0–50lbs |
| Child limit (manual) | 22 kg/50 lbs | Up to 22 kg (non-US) | 50lbs/22kg (NA) |
| Age or height cap | Upper age: Not stated (US page) | 48 months (non-US manual) | 4 years; maximum 40in (NA manual) |
| Underseat basket | US: 17.6 lbs; manual: 8 kg/17 lbs | US: 17.6 lbs (8 kg); manual: 8 kg | NA manual: 22lbs/10kg; US: Not stated |
| Seat-back pocket | 2 kg/4.4 lbs (manual) | Not stated | 1lb/0.45kg (NA manual) |
| Loads on the handlebar | Not stated; parcels on unit may cause instability | Attached loads affect stability | Do not hang objects |
A few questions, answered.
Show your work
Sources and method
We checked the sources below on October 25, 2026. Product dimensions and features are manufacturer-reported. Our recommendations are editorial interpretations of that information; we have not tested these products. Amazon supplies current listing titles, images, and retailer links when available. Those listings are not evidence of performance.
- Joolz US: Aer² model specifications
US product page; folded dimensions use the detailed specification block, which differs slightly from rounded marketing copy.
- Joolz: Aer² international manual
Joolz manual, Feb 2025 international edition, copy hosted by a retailer; says fabrics are machine washable, unlike the US product page.
- Bugaboo US: Butterfly 2 specifications
Butterfly 2 US listing, not Butterfly 2 Plus or the original Butterfly.
- Bugaboo: Butterfly 2 user guide
Non-US edition; differs from the US page on the sun canopy and basket.
- Ergobaby US: Metro 3 product and model options
Standard and Deluxe are separate packages. This selection uses Metro 3 Standard.
- Ergobaby: Metro 3 North American manual
NA edition; maintenance, cleaning, damage warnings, and approved parts.
- eCFR: 16 CFR part 1227, Safety Standard for Carriages and Strollers
Requires each carriage and stroller to comply with ASTM F833-21.

